Before giving you the steps of How to deactivate Facebook account? We would like to remind, you that after you deactivate your Facebook account your friends and people who follow you won’t be able to see your profile anywhere on Facebook.
Facebook account deactivation is considered as a temporary deactivation as after you deactivate your Facebook account you can re-activate your account by just logging in with the same username and password. After you activate your account all your posts and profile will automatically get restored.
Why should you delete the account? Isn’t deactivating it enough? No. Because ‘deactivating’ a Facebook account only means you are out of it temporarily. To exit Facebook totally, you have to delete the account.
Difference between deactivating and deleting Facebook account:
There are two different ways to get your Facebook account offline. The first is deactivating, which means:
- You can reactivate your account whenever you want
- People can’t see your Facebook Timeline, or search for you
- Some information may remain visible (like messages you’ve sent)
- Facebook saves your account info (like friends and interests) in case you reactivate
If you delete your account:
- Once a account is deleted it can’t be reactivated.
- Deletion of account is delayed for few days after it’s requested if you log back into your Facebook account during this time deletion request is cancelled .
- It may take up to 90 days to delete data stored in backup systems. Your information isn’t accessible on Facebook during this time.
- Information’s, such as messaging history, isn’t stored in your account. This means friends may still have access to messages you sent after your account has been deleted.
- Copies of some material (example: log records) may remain in our database but are disassociated from personal identifiers.
Steps for How to deactivate Facebook Account:
To deactivate your Facebook account, follow these four steps:
- Click the account menu down arrow at the top right of any Facebook page in your web browser and select ‘Settings’.
- Choose ‘General’ in the left column and Click ‘Manage your account’.
- Press ‘Deactivate your account’, and then follow the steps to confirm your decision.
- Select a proper reason for deactivating your Account from the list of reasons and select “Deactivate”.
- Once you click “Deactivate”, it will ask you to confirm your action to do so Click “Deactivate” again.
- Once you confirm your action, your account will be temporarily deactivated. After deactivation you will get confirmation message on your login screen.
Also read: How to delete Facebook Account?
How to reactivate Facebook account?
If you’d like to come back to Facebook after you’ve deactivated your account, you can reactivate your account at any time by logging back into Facebook or by using your Facebook account to log in somewhere else. Remember, you’ll need to have access to the email or mobile number you use to log into complete the reactivation.